Pin It

Published on 16 October 2014 by

UN security council positionsVenezuela today gained a non permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council.

“Victory for the nation in the UN, I say thank you in the name of our people to the 181 countries that supported us for the Security Council,” tweeted Venezuelan president Nicolas Maduro.

New Zealand, Angola and Malaysia were also elected to non permanent seats. Turkey and Spain failed to garner enough support for their bids in the first ballot. The term lasts for two years from 1 January 2015.

Venezuela was unopposed for the place on the council allocated to Latin America and the Caribbean, however several leading U.S. media outlets had lobbied against Nicolas Maduro’s leftwing administration gaining the seat.

The five permanent members of the Security Council are the U.S., U.K., France, Russia and China, while other countries are elected to the ten non permanent seats on a rolling basis of five per year.